Wednesday, June 11th: So long Columbus, Cleveland bound!

Before I left Ohio, I had to stop by Cleveland to see one of my dearest friend’s, Emily or en francais Amelie (: It only seemed fitting for me to see one of my best traveling buddies before I headed out on my epic road adventure. Emily is from Cleveland Heights but we didn’t meet in Ohio, we met when we were in France! We spent our time “studying” abroad by finding the cheapest happy hours, learning how to roll cigarettes in the park, teaching Parisians how to “dougie” (even though we have no idea how to, haha), and getting lost/becoming homeless in other foreign countries…oops! 😛

Our favorite dog we met, Jerry!

Our favorite dog we met after being stranded, Jerry!

Emily and her Mom welcomed me into their home and the second I arrived I was greeted and hugged by their sweet doggy, Lunette. Emily took me to Tommy’s Diner in Coventry Village, a small artsy village off Euclid. The diner is known for their milkshakes, which the Rolling Stone mag stated it was the “Best Milkshake East of the Mississippi” back in 1972, and they weren’t kidding because my mint chocolate shake was delicious! (even though I spilled half of it, be careful pouring them into the fancy fountain glass, yikes!) The diner has vegetarian and vegan fare along with meat options and everything tasted fresh (including the fries).

 tommysmenu

            After dinner, we grabbed several drinks at Panini’s, which was right across the street and had lovely outdoor patio seating. We reminisced about our travels and talked about the potential of more in the future since Emily will be teaching French in northern France, super exciting! We decided to go to this hookah bar called City and East. We laughed about how we were the only people in the place besides another group and how we didn’t see anyone younger than 18 this time since hookah bars are places most minors hang out. Overall we had a pleasantly relaxing night and the next day we had coffee and a hug session with Lunette (:

 emily, lunette, and me        emily and i looking up

            Thank you so much again, Emily! I enjoyed my time in Cleveland, can’t believe it’s been almost two years since I last saw you ahh! But we will stay in touch, especially since I will visit you again (hopefully in France) where we will pick up on our ridiculous adventures while repeating our favorite motto “Balls to the wall!” 😛 Good luck this summer and I owe you a couple of drinks across the Atlantic. A la prochaine…

jerry licking Emily        emelie!

Leave a comment